Finalists for Tanzania 2019 emerge

September 20, 2018

The line-up for the Total U-17 Africa Cup of Nations Tanzania 2019 is now complete. The identity of the seven teams to join host Tanzania for the final tournament has been unveiled.

The qualifiers, played for the first time on a zonal format saw the six CAF Zones holding separate qualifiers to determine their representatives for final tournament scheduled for 14-28 April 2019 in Tanzania.

The qualified teams are Angola (COSAFA), Uganda (CECAFA), Morocco (UNAF), Cameroon (UNIFFAC), Senegal and Guinea (WAFU A) and Nigeria (WAFU B).

Mali, winners of the last continental championship in 2017 in Gabon, failed to qualify just as former winners’ Ghana, Cote d’Ivoire, Gambia, Mali, Egypt and Burkina Faso.

Nigeria (2001 & 2007) and Cameroon (2003) are the former champions who will be in Tanzania to add to their laurels.


How they qualified

Host: Tanzania

UNAF: Morocco

The Young Atlas Lions won the round-robin tournament with three victories against Tunisia, Libya and Algeria.


WAFU A: Senegal, Guinea

Senegal beat Guinea 4-0 in the final. Two teams qualified because Mali, the former champion comes from that zone.


WAFU B: Nigeria

Nigeria beat Ghana 3-1 on penalties in the final.


UNIFFAC: Cameroon

Cameroon beat Congo 3-1 in the final


CECAFA: Uganda

Uganda beat Ethiopia 3-1 in the final


COSAFA: Angola

Angola beat South Africa 1-0 in the final



Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *