Referee Damir Skomina: right or wrong pen.?

March 6, 2019

The referee made the right call by awarding a penalty following Presnel Kimpembe's handball

 

The ref simply applied the laws as UEFA wish them to be but for me it shouldn't be a penalty

The ref simply applied the laws as UEFA wish them to be but for me it shouldn’t be a penalty

 

Let’s be clear, referee Damir Skomina (Slovenia) made the right decision in awarding Manchester United their late penalty following the handball by Presnel Kimpembe – he has applied the laws as UEFA wish them to be.

But PSG will be furious, and I understand why. This, for me, should not be a penalty, it is not a deliberate handball. In the Premier League over the years this would never have been given as a penalty.

It has been given because of UEFA’s recent instruction to referees, which came about after Manchester City conceded a similar penalty at Schalke last month.

They want referees to give handball when the arm is out and is in a non-natural position, and to that end the referee has been consistent here.

However, he has watched a slow-motion replay of the incident and, when it comes to handball, it always looks worse when slowed down.

I would always want to watch a handball claim in a real-time replay. Do that here and it’s never a penalty, the player is turning away and trying to withdraw his arm away from the ball.

It wasn't a deliberate handball and it's easy to understand why PSG will be furious

 

Marcus Rashford dispatched the penalty to seal Manchester United's place in the next round

Marcus Rashford dispatched the penalty to seal Manchester United’s place in the next round

 

SOURCE: dailymail.co.uk


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *