May 12, 2019


On this day 12 May 2010 (Exactly 9 years ago) Dormaa Ahenkro-based Aduana Stars made history by becoming the first Club to win the Ghana Premier League title on their maiden season in the elite division.

Aduana clinched the League title on the final day of the season with a lone goal victory over visiting Berekum Arsenal at the Dormaa Park whilst their closest contenders Obuasi Ashantigold lost by a lone goal against Bechem Chelsea(now Berekum Chelsea) at the Golden City Park in Berekum.

Ashgold led the standings with a three-point margin prior to the final round of matches and needed to avoid defeat to remain on course for their first League title since 1996.

With the victory Aduana finished on 53 points the same as Ashgold but had the upper-hand in terms of the head-to-head rule that was adopted by the Premier League Board (PLB) in case of a tie.

The League debutants beat Ashgold by a lone goal in Dormaa and managed a barren draw in the return encounter at Obuasi during the second round. By virtue of that, Aduana had a 1-0 aggregate win and it gave them the edge over Ashgold.

Meanwhile, Accra Great Olympics were relegated for the third time in the history of the Club.

The “Wonder Club” as they are fondly called lost 1-5 to Kumasi Asante Kotoko in the season’s final match at the Baba Yara Stadium which sealed their doom.

Prior to the final round of matches, the Sekondi duo of Eleven Wise and Hasaacas had confirmed their places in the second-tier of Ghana football.

On this day 12 May 1991 (Exactly 28 years ago) Accra Hearts of Oak ended Asante Kotoko’s unbeaten league run with a 1-0 victory through Ezekiel Alamu’s 52th minute strike at the Kumasi Sports Stadium.

This is the so-called “Angolan Bedsheet Match “. Some Kotoko fans came to the stadium holding blankets and towels – teasing Hearts who were alleged to have stolen bedsheets after a match in Angola.

Kotoko entered this match unseated in 14 matches in the League and were hoping to end the first round undefeated.

On this day 12 May 2001 (Exactly 18 years ago) Former WBC Flyweight and. WBA bantamweight champion, Nana Yaw Konadu retired after losing to Daniel Seda at the Madison Square Garden, New York, USA.

Former three-time world champion, Nana Konadu lost in a 9-round TKO to unbeaten Daniel Seda .

On this day 12 May 1976 (Exactly 43 years ago) Bayern Munich beat Saint – Etienne 1- 0 to win the 30th European Champions Club’s Cup at the Hamden Park, Glasgow, Scotland. Franz Roth scored the lone goal in the 55th minute to clinch a third successive European Cup for the Bavarians.

On this day 12 May 1982 (Exactly 37 years ago) FC Barcelona won the 22nd European Cup Winner’s Cup after a 2-1 victory over Standard Liege of Belgium at the Camp Nou, Barcelona. Standard Liege scored first through Guy Vandersmissen in the 8th minute before the Catalans struck back in the 45th and 63rd minutes through Allan Simonson and Enrique Castro Gonzalez respectively.

On this day 12 May 1980 (Exactly 39 years ago) West Ham United won the FA Cup beating Arsenal 1-0 at the Wembley Stadium. Playmaker Trevor Brooking scored the winner for the Hammers.

To date, it is the last time a team from the outside the top flight has won the FA Cup . It was West Ham’s third FA Cup triumph and the last time that they have won a major trophy.

On this day 12 May 1993 (Exactly 26 years ago) AC Parma of Italy won the 33rd European Cup Winner’s Cup against Royal Antwerp of Belgium at the Wembley Stadium, London.

Parma opened the scoring on the 10th minute through captain Lorenzo Menotti left of the penalty area. But Antwerp replied within two minutes, through Francis Severeyns who shot past the goalkeeper to level the scores.

The Italians began to dominate the game and Alessandro Melli headed them 2-1 ahead after half an hour after a cross from the right.

The game was put beyond Antwerp six minutes from time when Stefano Cuoghi curled a shot past the goalkeeper from inside the area.



Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *